District Administration

District Administration

District is a basic administrative unit in our country. The district bureaucracy and its structure in the country are conceived and given a shape more than a century ago. The head of the district administration is the Collector/ District Magistrate/ Deputy Commissioner who is drawn from Indian Administrative Service.

Though most of the developmental activities at the district are carried out by the various functional departments, the Collector as the Chief Executive of the district has a central role as the coordinator of programs implemented in the district.

As the revenue head of the district, Deputy Commissioner is the chief representative of the Government. As the District Magistrate, he is responsible for the law and order within the district.

The Deputy Commissioner is assisted by Assistant Commissioners, who will be in charge of the revenue administration of one or more taluks called revenue sub-division, and Tehsildars who will be in charge of the revenue administration of one taluk.

Dakshina Kannada District has 2 revenue sub-divisions viz., Mangalore and Puttur and 5 Taluks viz., Mangalore, Bantwal, Puttur, Belthangady, and Sullia.

Deputy Commissioner’s Office Mangalore is situated in the heart of the city near State Bank. The DC office has various sections to deal with different matters of land, law, and order, public grievances, etc.

In the Deputy Commissioner’s Office, the Deputy Commissioner is assisted by Additional Deputy Commissioner (ADC), Election Tahsildar, Shirastedars, and Caseworkers of different sections.

The district was formed in 1799 and MAJOR MUNRO was the first-ever Collector of the district. The present Deputy Commissioner is the 130th in the list of Deputy Commissioners/Collectors worked in the district.

Present Incumbents :

Designation Name
Deputy Commissioner Dr. Rajendra K V, IAS
Addnl. Deputy Commissioner Kumara, KAS
Assistant Commissioners-
Assistant Commissioner, Mangaluru Ravichandra Nayak, KAS
Assistant Commissioner, Puttur H.K. Krishna Murthy, KAS
DC Office Election Tahashildar N. Manikya
Tahashildar Mangaluru T.G.Guruprasad
Tahashildar Bantwal Purandara Hegde
Tahashildar Belthangady Madan Mohan C
Tahashildar Sullia B.M.Kunjamma
Tahashildar Puttur Anant Shankar
Tahashildar Moodabidri Rashmi S.R.
Tahashildar Kadaba John Prakash
Spl. Tahashildar Mulki N. Manikya

 Website : https://dk.nic.in