Mangaluru City Corporation

Mangaluru City Corporation

The Mangaluru City Corporation is the municipal corporation responsible for looking after the city administration of the Indian City of Mangaluru. It consists of a legislative and an executive body. The legislative body is headed by the city mayor while the executive body is headed by a Chief Commissioner.


Mangaluru City Corporation (MCC) came into existence during 3 July 1980, which was formerly a Municipality and was expanded during 1996–97 by including Surathkal Town Municipality, Katipalla Notified area, Panamboor, Baikampady, Kulai, Hosabettu villages. Further during April 2002, it was further extended to include Bajal, Kannuru, Kudupu and Thiruvail Panchayath limits into Mangaluru City Corporation.

Mangaluru City Corporation presided by a mayor. Mangaluru City Corporation currently has a population of more than 600,000 and area of 170 km2 and there is proposal to increase that to 304 km2 by including Mulky in the north and Ullal in the south. It is divided into 60 wards, each represented by a corporator. Elections to the corporation are held every five years and subsequently a mayor and a deputy mayor are elected for a term of one year. It comes under portion of two Lokasabha Constituencies, four Legislative assembly constituencies and one legislative council constituency.

The city corporation is now housed in its own premises located at M. G. Road, Lalbagh, Mangaluru. Since its up-gradation as a city corporation, the civic body has spearheaded several developmental activities in the city and it has been adjudged as one of the best corporations in the state for 3 years continuously.

Mangaluru City Corporation (MCC) belongs to Mangaluru City South and Mangaluru City North constituencies in Karnataka Legislative Assembly and Dakshina Kannada - Lok Sabha constituency.


Website Link: